When two worlds collide…

I used to tell my clients that working with horses is like working with a toddler…they can’t verbally speak to you so it’s a bit of a guess situation sometimes. Well! How worlds collide and change so quickly! Now I find myself using the same skills I use with horses with my new baby- odd parenting style ? or just good optimization and use of prior skill set? I like to think the latter because horses have always been my go to for understanding the world; it’s a simpler world when it just fight or flight instinct that drives you. However, it is this world where I find my comfort in knowing that things will be okay when I feel like I am not following the best parenting method for any given day.

As I type this my daughter quietly swings in her baby swing (for now, here’s hoping I didn’t just jinx my luck) and I can’t help but wonder what is running through her mind. Most likely with babies it is hunger, dirty diapers or sleepy but is that always the case? Lets be honest, sometimes our little ones are just uncomfortable in how they are sitting/ laying or are bored of not moving and just like the horse who can only act out of a fight/ flight instinct, or don’t  know what we are asking, use their only method to get a change: acting out. Whether this acting out is crying (or more dangerous actions in the horse( we as the parents of both need to adapt our schedule to match theirs. THIS fact right there, that has just come out of my own mouth, is what I struggle with the most as a new mom sometimes- realizing that my time is not longer my own. What do you mean I can’t leisurely drink my coffee on the porch till I feel like I should go back to work?! Or how I can’t ride for hours on end till the sun sets …oh, how those days are missed sometimes.

Till I can bring my little one along with me on more adventures, I realize I will continue to use the skill set from before, from the equestrian/ ranching world, to understand and adjust to raising a beautiful little girl.

 

 

I would love to hear what skill set you find yourself using while your worlds of parenting and your passions collide, send me a message or a comment!

 

Leave a Reply

